Humans Sending Email by Jeff Felten

"I would’ve niched down sooner. It took me 3 years to get 100 subscribers (before I went all in on email marketing)."

Learn how to level up your newsletter from successful creators.

Sundays 👉 The unique journey of a different newsletter creator

Wednesdays 👉 Articles with unique insights and recommendations

CREATOR INTERVIEW

As an experienced copywriter, Jeff Felten has been sending emails to his list since the beginning. In the early days, it took him 3 years to reach 100 subscribers. But, once he decided to niche down and went all in on email marketing, things started to change.

Jeff Felten now sends his newsletter Humans Sending Emails to an engaged list of over 2,000 subscribers and is highly successful at marketing his business.

He’s also an expert on creating lead magnets and how to increase sales with email marketing. Accordingly, he launched a product called Creator’s Welcome System in Dec’23 for $127. After a while, he increased the price to $249, and he already made 200 sales.

Now, I'm handing the mic over to Jeff Felten to learn how he built his newsletter business.

Let's get started.

🏷 NEWSLETTER IDENTITY CARD

🛠 TOOL STACK

👋 MEET THE CREATOR

Welcome Jeff. Let’s start with getting to know you.

I started copywriting in 2019 as a StoryBrand Certified Guide. Back then, I was kind of a generalist – meaning I would write any kind of copy for anybody. Over time, I niched down to email marketing, then eventually further down to email marketing for solo entrepreneurs.

Now, I primarily write email sequences and run course launch campaigns, but I also sell a DIY course on welcome sequences. 🙂

🥁 START

How and why did you start Humans Sending Emails in the first place?

I’d been sending emails to my list for a few years before naming my newsletter. I decided to give it a name to make it easier for people to grasp “the point” of my content: which is to humanize our marketing. Elements like “trust” and “being human” are key parts of my philosophy about marketing. Mainly, it serves these roles:

  • Long term nurturing

  • Keeping offers in front of subscribers

  • Indoctrination to my approach to email

  • Validation for new ideas / a place to flesh out ideas more fully than social media

🚀 GROWTH

Which growth strategies did you utilize to reach over 2,000 subscribers?

It’s honestly been the same all the way through.

There’s no magic strategy, tbh.

“If you create great social content, people like you and vibe with your ideas, and you have a GOOD reason for them to sign up for your list, they will.”

💸 MONETIZATION

What is your monetization strategy?

Subscribe to keep reading

This content is free, but you must be subscribed to Newsletter Circle to continue reading.

Already a subscriber?Sign In.Not now

Reply

or to participate.